Five Favourites for Friday

Roasted Brussels Sprouts and Prosciutto Bites from Bev Cooks

I loved eating brussel sprouts as a child. When we met, B did not. A few years later, when I was visiting him, I decided to cook some for myself, and he asked if he could try one. Since then, he’s ASKED me to prepared the yummy garlicy brussel sprouts for him. I can only imagine that brussel sprouts are just as tasty when paired with prosciutto. I’m sure B won’t mind if I use him as a taste-tester when I prepare this recipe.

Classic Pad Thai from Leite’s Culinaria

Since our Niagara Icewine tour last weekend, I’ve wanted pad thai. I’ll be having Thai food for lunch today at a highly recommended restaurant in Cambridge called the Thai Coconut Island. I hope their Pad Thai will be as yummy as the one served at the winery.

Asian Orange Ginger Vinaigrette from Steamy Kitchen

This recipe reminds me of the vinaigrette served at sushi restaurants. Yum!

Spicy Asian Broccoli from Foodie with Family

Because I was away last weekend, I missed our yearly tradition of going out for dim sum to see the Chinese New Year celebrations. Every year, dad takes the family to our favourite dim sum restaurant, Cameron Seafood, and we enjoy the drumming and dragon/lion dance. Probably because I missed the tradition, I have wanted to go out for Chinese food this week.

Chicken and Rice Soup (Sopa de Arroz Con Pollo) from My Colombian Recipes

It’s winter. It’s unseasonably warm. But I still want soup to warm me up. It’s a comfort food. Chicken and rice is one of my favourites because I can prepare it in the slow cooker and come home to a bowl of piping hot soup.

Leave a comment

2 Comments

  1. I’ve tried to make pad thai twice in my life. The husband is a huge fan of pad thai, so when we were first married, I was insistent that I’d learn to make it. The first time? Neither of us could eat it, it was SO spicy. Who knew that a tablespoon of that asian chili sauce stuff would be way too much? The second time, it ended up salty and equally inedible.

    We order in instead.

    The brussel sprouts kind of look delicious!

    Reply
    • I’ve also been unlucky in trying to prepare pad thai. The linked recipe looks simple enough… hopefully it tastes as good as take-out!

      The brussel sprouts do look delicious. I really want to make them soon!

      Reply

Leave a comment