One Lovely Blog Award

One Lovely Blog Award

I was very excited last week to be nominated for the One Lovely Blog Award by kme141 who blogs at Read: Cook: Live! Thank you so much for the nomination! Makes me feel all warm and fuzzy knowing that someone thinks highly enough of this blog to nominate it. 🙂

According to the rules of receiving this award, in this post I must share 7 random facts about myself and then nominate 15 blogs to receive the award. Which made me realize that I’ve shared a lot about cooking, family, and pets… but not a whole lot about myself. So I guess this post sort of doubles as an introduction of sorts.

7 random facts about me

  1. When I started blogging in June 2011 (not that long ago), I was very nervous about over-sharing about my personal life. But, after reading blogs and some advice from Jeanette at This Dusty House, I slowly began to open up, share more, and in return (I think) made my blog posts a bit more interesting.
  2. I prefer to stay busy. Aside from being a full time student, I practice Ashtanga Yoga, maintain this blog, and enjoy spending any remaining free time with family and friends.
  3. I started working towards a PhD in English this month. I study rhetoric and video games (which is just as awesome as it sounds) and have strong interest in education.
  4. While I always love the comforts of food that reminds me of home and my childhood, my every day food preferences are very different from what I would eat growing up.
  5. I feel like food blogging has turned me into a bit of a food snob, even though my intention is to share relatively healthy foods that are affordable.
  6. I don’t drink coffee. I used to, but one day a little over a year ago, I decided I didn’t like the taste or smell of it anymore. It was a very sudden change. Instead, I enjoy a cup of tea each morning (usually Moroccan Mint).
  7. I love dogs (and most other pets).

15 nominees for the One Lovely Blog Award

These nominees are in no particular order. Just a collection of blog that I enjoy reading regularly.

  1. This Dusty House
  2. Kitchen Inspirations
  3. Sophie’s Foodie Files
  4. MJ’s Kitchen
  5. Ginger Bakes
  6. Frugal Antics of a Harried Homemaker
  7. Dominican Heat
  8. That Skinny Chick Can Bake
  9. Fine Frugality
  10. Como Water
  11. Good Food Not Much Time
  12. The Lean Green Bean
  13. Our Life In Food
  14. Fig Jam and Lime Cordial
  15. The Ranch Wife Chronicles
Leave a comment

17 Comments

  1. Thanks for thinking of me! It was so fun to read a little more about you. My husband works for a company that adds educational content to video games. Sounds like your PhD studies will be fun.

    Reply
    • You’re welcome Kristen! Very cool that we, sort of, have something in common besides blogging! 🙂

      Reply
  2. That’s very kind of you Amber, thank you! 🙂

    Reply
  3. I’m glad you like my recipes! I enjoyed reading your bio here as well. You sound like a well rounded young woman who knows that hard work pays off. Best wishes and thanks again.

    Reply
  4. Thanks for the nomination!

    Reply
  5. Congratulations on your award! So well deserved! You do have a lovely blog! Thank you so much for passing this award my way. I’m quite flattered! Like you, I had a hard time talking about my personal life because having been a teacher for so many years, it was all about the students and working with other teachers as a team. So it was always “we” or “you”. Then I read an article about blogging and it said that the one thing one must “get over” is the use of the word “I”. You need to learn to use it because you do need to make your blog about you and your interest. I love the way you tie a little of yourself to your food. Have a great day!

    Reply
    • Thanks MJ! And you’re welcome! Blogging is definitely a genre of it’s own and is very different from the usual writing styles found in classrooms. I’m still working at making my posts more personal, but I know that it’s become much easier since I’ve been blogging regularly.

      Reply
  6. Congrats on your award, Amber! I’m another yoga lover 🙂 Fun to learn a bit more about you!!! And thank you, thank you, thank you for passing this wonderful award along to me…I’m truly touched!

    Reply
    • Thanks Liz! And you’re very welcome! The award really made me realize how little I share (yet, I’m much better at sharing now than when I started blogging). It’s nice to have the opportunity to share a bit!

      Reply
  7. Congrats on your well deserved award! thanks for nominating me! It will be my 65th award! yes, yes, yes! 🙂 I loved reading more about you too! xxx You made my day!

    Reply
    • Thanks Sophie! And you’re welcome! Wow, 65 awards? That’s amazing!

      How did you like your first yoga class?

      Reply
      • Sophie33

         /  October 9, 2012

        It was the best! I follow the beginner’s yoga: gentle flow & it was 1 hour of fun, streching, lovely poses & a lot of work, work, work! It is intens but you feel so good afterwards!

        Reply
  8. I ams tarting my first yoga class today & I can’t wait to get started!

    Reply
  1. Guest Post from Ginger Bakes: Chocolate Drizzled Mocha Cookies « The Cook's Sister

Leave a comment