Homemade Ginger Ale

A few week’s ago at a classmate’s birthday party, I was served homemade ginger ale. Normally I would turn down ginger ale. It reminds me of days that I was sick and had to stay home from school. (I loved going to school every day, keeping busy, staying home in bed was boring!) But when I was told the ginger ale was homemade, I had to give it a try! It was delicious! What made it different from canned ginger ale? It was much less sweet, there was much more ginger flavour, and there was less carbonation. I asked my classmate to send me the link to the recipe so I could try it our myself. Not only did I get the link, but also some suggestions for preparing it. Thank you!

This is my first attempt at making homemade ginger ale and it won’t be my last. It was very good, but there’s room for improvement. For starters, don’t skimp on the ginger. If you get through peeling the ginger and find you’re half a cup short of the desired amount in the recipe, don’t move forward anyway. Make a quick trip to the grocery store for more ginger, you’ll be glad you  did!

Homemade Ginger Ale

Adapted from the recipe at Simply So Good with suggestions from my classmate

Ingredients

  • 2 cups water
  • 2 cups fresh ginger, peeled and chopped – approximate cost $1.00
  • 3/4 cup organic cane sugar – approximate cost $1.00
  • 1 liter Club Soda – approximate cost $2.00
  • 4 limes, juiced – approximate cost $1.50
Optional:
  • Mint leaves for garnish

Method

  • Prepare the ginger syrup
    • Bring the water to a simmer in a medium-sized pot.
    • Add the cane sugar and stir until dissolved.
    • Add the ginger and cook for 5 minutes.
    • Remove from heat.
    • Cover the pot with a lid and let stand for 1 hour.
    • Refrigerate until cooled (keeps for a few days if you aren’t making the ginger ale right away).
  • Put it together in a large juice pitcher!
    • Combine the ginger syrup, Club Soda, and lime juice.
    • Stir well.
    • Add ice cubes.
    • Stir again.
    • Serve (with optional mint leaves for garnish).
  • Or, serve it by the glass.
    • Combine 1/4 cup lime juice, 1/2 cup ginger syrup, and3/4 cup Club Soda.
    • Stir well.
    • Add ice cubes.
    • Stir again.
    • Serve (with optional mint leaves for garnish).

Makes 4 servings (approximate cost: $1.38 per serving).

Leave a comment

14 Comments

  1. This sounds so refreshing! Much better than the canned version 🙂

    Reply
  2. Wow, I would totally agree with you, that home made version sounds incredible. In fact, I will make this next time one of my non-drinking friends come over. It looks so light and refreshing.

    Reply
    • Thanks Eva! This recipe is quite refreshing! I love that it’s not too sweet but still a nice specialty drink to serve to guests.

      Reply
  3. We love ginger ale – thank you for the recipe! The ginger syrup would probably be really useful in cakes as well…

    Reply
    • Thanks for the suggestion Celia! The ginger syrup might be really good in a cake…. if I ever have leftovers after making ginger ale!

      Reply
  4. I like any form of ginger ale or ginger beer: canned, bottled, homemade — let me at it. Funny that I make ginger tea a lot from fresh ginger but have never made ginger ale.

    Reply
  5. Who knew you could make your own gingerale??? Great idea. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply
  1. Home made Ginger Ale « Kitcheninspirations
  2. Five Favourites for Friday « The Cook's Sister

Leave a comment